Get out

Last night I felt my blood boiling a bit. The desire to get up and leave, to get away, to make my heart beat. I grabbed my bike and set out for a good hour riding in fast circles through south east. It is important to remember (but even easier to forget) that all of the tools required to make yourself feel happy again are within your grasp. For me that meant staying out of the house as much as humanly possible yesterday. Exploration and discovery. Reading things with true care and thought, tasting things slowly to let myself enjoy them. I even left my phone at home, computer plugged into the wall all alone. I could live my entire life sitting in front of that thing, pressing glass screen buttons just to get by. But when I’m out walking, or riding, or going somewhere I’ve never been before just to see what it’s like, I realize just how much I’d be missing out on living like that.

One thought on “Get out

  1. i think everyone should read this. this is the most important thing to know in our generation.

    “It is important to remember (but even easier to forget) that all of the tools required to make yourself feel happy again are within your grasp.” I’m going to save this quote and post it everywhere. because this is an incredible quote.

Leave a Reply

