negative emotions

“I do not like cognitive behavioral therapy or rational emotive behavioral therapy. I think the most important belief is a belief in the validity of our own experience; anything that minimizes or distorts that, I do not like. And, I think, if we are to grow, we need to feel our pain and sorrow, not run from it. This is further expanded on in emotion focused therapy.”

Every day before class my teacher gives us an outline of what we’ll be focusing on in class that day. I was disappointed to see that he is not a believer of cognitive behavioral therapy. As someone who focuses very much on the line between psychology and neuroscience, I’ve always been a fan of CBT. However I do really enjoy his alluding to the fact that negative emotions must be accepted as valid and important parts of growing and hiding them/avoiding them is going to stunt psychological development.

Leave a Reply

