little fantasies

I like the idea of waking up with soft sunlight, in a silent room.

White bed-sheets and clean skin. A cup of water. Some orange juice.

Fingers sticky with the ink from the newspaper tossed to my front step.

I like the idea of childhood fantasies.

Cereal for dinner and pillow forts.

I like not forgetting to brush my teeth before bed.

Sometimes I like when it rains but when it rains too much I like it when the sun comes out.

And when you lay out in the grass and, sticky green, covered in it and the heat.

I like playing cards and holding them all in your fingers, somehow, you learned that.

I like printers, inking words you’ve pulled out like magic, making them permanent.

I like the idea of writing a book that isn’t in any proper order.

Like life, you read it backwards and upside down with last thoughts crammed in and stapled.

I like photographs with worn edges and books with the cover torn off.

I like the smell of novels buried in the back rooms of a bookstore, books someone used to love.

I like black and white episodes of I Love Lucy curled up in makeshift beds on the floor.

I like falling asleep curled up into the perfect shape – click.

I like waking up in the middle of the night if you’re there.

I like taking one single moment in the dark to feel your skin against my skin and remember.

That all of the little moments are what make up these little fantasies.

One thought on “little fantasies

Leave a Reply

