I walked up to her door and

a cat ran across my feet like

a funny, silly, bad omen sort of

start to a movie that

you think is going to make you laugh

but then someone’s head gets cut off.

Shock value aside – okay – I ring

the doorbell – ring – ring

and she opens it with a

creaaaaaaak

just barely enough to

peak her head out.

I am the Marilyn to her

Munster.

I say hello, cheerfully so

she will maybe, let me in, or

say something back to me or

I don’t know

human decency

and all.

She invites me in, I think.

It smells like

adult diapers and

jesus.

Really.

There’s a smell for it all

and

I can feel all the sinning I’ve been doing

lighting up over my head like

a neon light

blink blink

sluts here!

She gives me a curious look and

I plug my nose

dont breathe through my mouth

tastes like mexican.

Oh god. Oh god. Hurry up.

She sits down.

She’s like that

angry woman

from

Harry Potter.

My hand twitches. My head aches.

I look up and the cat has

made it to the table

somehow

oh god.

Oh God.

Something’s in the oven and she

pulls it out and

I can’t tell what it is anymore

like

it could have been alive, once

I think.

The fridge is covered in pieces of paper.

Weird colored sheets of

construction paper.

Paper that is

torn from the edges

ratted and ragged

and

covered

in

names.

Some are crossed out and

I think for a minute

maybe

this

is

my

judgement

day.

She serves me up a little plate of

whatever-it-is

and

I try to tell her my side of the story.

She says she’s very glad I’m interested in

buying her cakes, she’s quite the artist

with fondant.

I say, no. No, I’m not here for cake.

I’m not here for cake at all.

She puts a candle in the mess

in front of me

and

she lights it up.

Blow out the candles

blow them out real good

jesus is watching.

I want to get out alive

oh

god

I want to make it free

I’m suffocating in the smell of her

fred meyer perfume

bottled fragrances

99 cents.

I take a bite and I say

thank you

that’s

awfully good

I’ll recommend you.

She smiles at me and I think it’s over.

I hope it’s over.

I get up and the cat

scratches my leg like

sayonara.

Leave a Reply

